1991 Opera Tres, Spain 2CD 1003/4

Francisco Tárrega (1852-1909)


1. Maria
2. Pavana
3. Gran Vals
4. El Columpio
5. Vals
6. Danza Mora
7. Danza Odalisca
8. Pepita, polka
9. Rosita, polka
10. Sueño, mazurka
11. Marieta, mazurka
12. Mazurka,in G major
13. Adelita, mazurka
14. Las dos hermanitas, vals
15. Minueto
16. Paquito, waltz in C major
17. Isabel, vals for guitar
18. Sueño, trémolo
19. Fantasia on Themes From Verdi's "La Traviata"
20. Fantasy on Themes from Arrita's Marina
21. Carnival of Venice


1. Capricho árabe
2. Recuerdos de la Alhambra
3. Alborada
4. Tango
5. Prelude No. 1 in E major
6. Prelude No. 2 in A major
7. Prelude No. 3 in A minor
8. Prelude No. 4 in B minor
9. Prelude No. 5 in G major
10. Prelude No. 6 in D minor
11. Prelude No. 7 in G major
12. Prelude No. 8 in A minor "Lágrima"
13. Prelude No. 9 in D minor "Endecha"
14. Prelude No. 10 in D minor "Oremus"
15. Prelude No. 11 in D major
16. Prelude No. 12 in D major
17. Prelude No. 13 in E major
18. Prelude No. 14 in A minor
19. Prelude No. 15 in A minor
20. Prelude No. 16 in E major
21. Etude No. 1, En forma de minuetto
22. Etude No. 2, De Velocidad
23. Etude No. 3 in G major
24. Etude No. 4 in B minor
25. Etude No. 5 in A major
26. Etude No. 6 in A major
27. Etude No. 7 in A major
28. Etude No. 8 in A minor
29. Etude No. 9 in E major
30. Etude No. 10, Petit Menuet
31. Etude No. 11 in D major
32. Etude No. 12 in C major
33. Etude No. 13 in A major
34. Etude No. 14, La Mariposa
35. Etude No. 15, Sobre un tema de Wagner
36. Etude No. 16, Inspirado en J. B. Cramer
37. Etude No. 17, Sobre un tema de Mendelssohn
38. Etude No. 18 in A major
39. Etude No. 19 in E minor
40. Etude No. 20, Estudio brillante de Alard
41. Gran jota

"More than any other guitarist, David Russell understands the art of musical mouth-to-mouth resuscitation. He can breathe new life into an innocent little piece that most of us gave up playing years, decades, even generations ago. Some of Tarrega's pieces come into that category. Russell lavishes his battery of skills on every innocuous phrase, every mundane harmonic progression, as if his life as well as Tarrega's reputation depended on it. It is not sleight of hand - it's all in the music, if you care to look.
Boring performances of Tarrega are the fault of the player, not the composer. (...) a definitive version of his guitar compositions recorded by a master engineer (John Taylor) and performed by, simply, the best man for the job."

Colin Cooper, Classical guitar

This is one of the best CD's I've purchased in the last five years. Not only are all of his works here on two discs, but there are works that I haven't ever found on any other discs.
Notably, the Gran Jota variations are found in this set. These variations comprise of almost 11 minutes of one of the greatest guitar compositons you will ever hear!
Larry C. West


John Taylor Location Recording & Production
Hampstead, 1/17/1991



Copyright © 2024 davidrussellguitar.com All rights reserved. about us - policy